Georgia Sex Offender Registry

updated 10/30/17

Contact Person: Ann Marie Elliott
404-270-8465
ann.elliott@gbi.ga.govGCICsexoffenders@gbi.ga.gov – (Recommended – I’m also listed on our group email address)

Rhonda Westbrook
404-270-8641
Rhonda.Westbrook@gbi.ga.gov

Offenders Required to Register: Persons convicted on or after July 1, 1996 of a criminal offense against a victim who is a minor.Persons convicted on or after July 1, 2006 of a dangerous sexual offense.Persons previously convicted of a criminal offense against a minor and may be released from prison or placed on parole, supervised release, or probation on or after July 1, 1996.

Persons sentenced under the first offender act in Georgia, are required to register until the sentence is successfully completed.

A nonresident sexual offender who changes residence from another state or territory of the United States to Georgia who is required to register as a sexual offender under federal law, military law, tribal law, or the laws of another state or territory, regardless of when the conviction occurred.

A nonresident sexual offender who enters this state for the purpose of employment or any other reason for a period exceeding 14 consecutive days or for an aggregate period of time exceeding 30 days during any calendar year regardless of whether such sexual offender is required to register under federal law, military law, tribal law, or the laws of another state or territory.

A nonresident sexual offender who enters this state for the purpose of attending school as a full-time or part-time student regardless of whether such sexual offender is required to register under federal law, military law, tribal law, or the laws of another state or territory.

Information Collected: Fingerprints, photograph, name, physical description and current address; place of employment, if any; the crime of which convicted and date of conviction; and the date released from prison or placed on parole, supervised release, or probation. The school information is required also.
Administrating Agency: Georgia Bureau of Investigation, Department of Corrections, and Sheriffs and Pardon and Parole.
Timeframe for Registration: Any sexual offender required to register under this Code section shall provide the required registration information to the appropriate official before being released from prison or placed on parole, supervised release, or probation.The sexual offender must register with the sheriff of the county in which the sexual offender resides within 72 hours after the sexual offender’s release from prison or placement on parole, supervised release, probation, or entry into this state.The sexual offender must renew the required registration information with the sheriff of the county in which the sexual offender resides by reporting to the sheriff within 72 hours prior to such sexual offender’s birthday each year to be photographed and fingerprinted.

In addition to the requirements of registration for all sexual offenders, a sexually dangerous predator shall also report to the sheriff of the county where such predator resides six months following his or her birth month and update or verify his or her required registration information.

The sexual offender must also register in any other state where he or she is employed, carries on a vocation, or is a student, should that state requires the offender to register.

Applies to Out of State Offenders: Yes
Duration of Requirement: LIFE orPer O.C.G.A. 42-1-12 (g) (1) “Any sexual offender required to register under this Code section who meets the criteria set forth in paragraph (2) of this Code section may petition the superior court of the jurisdiction in which the sexual offender is registered to be released from the registration requirements of this Code section. The court may issue an order releasing the sexual offender from further registration if the court finds that the sexual offender does not pose a substantial risk of perpetrating any future dangerous sexual offense.(2) In order to petition the court pursuant to paragraph (1) of this subsection, the sexual offender shall:

(A) Have been sentenced pursuant to subsection (c) of Code Section 17-10-6.2; and

(B) Have had ten years elapse since his or her release from prison, parole, supervised release, or probation.”

Verification of Address: Yes – (at Sheriff’s level)
Penalties for Non-Compliance: First offense is a felony.
Access to Information: The Georgia Bureau of Investigation or any sheriff maintaining records required under this Code section shall release relevant information collected under this Code section that is necessary to protect the public concerning persons required to register under this Code section, except that the identity of a victim of an offense that requires registration under this Code section shall not be released.
Confidentiality Provision: You can not release any information about the victim.
Number Registered: As of 10/30/2017 (the registry updated daily):

  • Registered offenders – 30,256

Non compliant offenders – 616

Percent Compliance: 98.61%
Internet Access: www.gbi.georgia.gov*** Please refer to www.gbi.georgia.gov for quarterly updates (Will change soon to bi-monthly updates).
Translate »