Megan’s Law for Maine

updated 6/27/2016

Contact Person: Gregory Paquet
State Bureau of Identification
(207) 624-7270Matthew Ruel
Director
(207) 624-7241
Offenders Required to Register:
  1. Maine – A person sentenced in this State on or after January 1, 1982 for a sex offense or a sexually violent offense as an adult or as a juvenile sentenced as an adult; and
  2. Other jurisdictions – A person sentenced in another jurisdiction as an adult or as a juvenile sentenced as an adult:
    1. At any time of an offense that requires registration in the jurisdiction of conviction pursuant to that jurisdiction’s sex offender registration laws or that would have required registration had the person remained there;
    2. On or after January 1, 1982, of an offense that contains the essential elements of a sex offense or sexually violent offense; or
    3. At any time for a military, tribal or federal offense requiring registration pursuant to:
      1. The Jacob Wetterling Crimes Against Children and Sexually Violent Offender Registration Act, also known as the Jacob Wetterling Act, Section 170101 of the Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994, Public Law 103-322, as amended; or
      2. The Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 2006, Public Law 109-248.
  1. Maine – A person who commits criminal conduct and is sentenced in this State on or after January 1, 2013 as an adult or as a juvenile sentenced as an adult for that criminal conduct and that criminal conduct is a Tier I offense, Tier II offense or Tier III offense; and
  2. Other jurisdictions – A person who commits criminal conduct and is sentenced in another jurisdiction for that criminal conduct on or after January 1, 2013 as an adult or as a juvenile sentenced as an adult:
    1. For an offense that requires registration in the jurisdiction of conviction pursuant to that jurisdiction’s sex offender registration laws or that would have required registration had the person remained there;
    2. For an offense that contains the essential elements of a Tier I offense, Tier II offense or Tier III offense; or
    3. For a military, tribal or federal offense requiring registration pursuant to:
      1. The federal Jacob Wetterling Crimes Against Children and Sexually Violent Offender Registration Act, also known as the Jacob Wetterling Act, Section 170101 of the federal Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994, Public Law 103-322, as amended; or
      2. The federal Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 2006, Public Law 109-248, 42 United States Code, Chapter 151
Administrating Agency: Maine State Police, State Bureau of Identification.
Timeframe for Registration: If sentenced on or after January 1, 1982 Within 5 days from date of release from incarceration or notification.A person who commits criminal conduct and is sentenced on or after January 1, 2013 Within 3 days from date of release from incarceration or notification.
Applies to Out of State Offenders: Yes
Duration of Requirement: If sentenced on or after January 1, 1982 – 10 years or life time§11202-A.Exception

  1. Exception. Notwithstanding section 11202, a person is not required to register under this chapter if that person submits to the bureau, in a form to be determined by the bureau, documentation to establish that they were convicted prior to September 18, 1999 and they meet all exceptions required. (Please call registry if you would like to find out what the exceptions are required)

A person who commits criminal conduct and is sentenced on or after January 1, 2013 Tier I (10 years), Tier II (25 years) and Tier III (Lifetime)

Verification of Address: If sentenced on or after January 1, 1982 – 10 years (once a year) annually and Life Time – every 3 months.  Any changes must be reported within 5 days to SOR and 24 hours to law enforcement.  A person who commits criminal conduct and is sentenced on or after January 1, 2013 – Tier I (10 years) (once a year) annually, Tier II (25 years) every 6 months and Tier III (Lifetime) every 3 months.  Any changes must be reported within 3 days to SOR and 24 hours to law enforcement.
Penalties for Non-Compliance:
  1. Failure to comply; first offense is a class D crime.
  2. Failure to comply; second offense. A person who has one prior conviction commits a Class C crime.
  3. Failure to comply; third offense: A person who has 2 or more prior convictions under this section commits a Class B crime.
Access to Information: Upon the conditional release or discharge of a sex offender from a state correctional institution law enforcement shall give notice of the information to members of the public who law enforcement determines appropriate to ensure public safety.
Confidentiality Provision: No
Number Registered: 2,714
Percent Compliance: 91.5% (230 non-compliant registrants)
Internet Access: http://sor.informe.org/cgi-bin/sor/index.pl
Translate »