Megan’s Law for Nebraska

updated 10/31/2017

Contact Person: Contact information: Sex offender registry main phone number: 402-471-8647.  Please email all requests and inquiries to: nsp.sor@nebraska.gov.  Supervisor is Andi Hart 402-471-8640, andi.hart@nebraska.gov.
Offenders Required to Register: A person is required to register who, as of January 1, 1997: Pleads guilty to or is found guilty of any crime(s) requiring registration; Is on probation or parole or incarcerated for any of the crimes requiring registration; Is released from incarceration, parole, probation for any of the crimes requiring registration; Moves into the state of Nebraska having pleaded guilty or been found guilty of any offense that is substantially equivalent to the crimes requiring registration in Nebraska. Has moved to Nebraska from another state which requires registration.
Information Collected: A complete description, date of birth, social security number, photograph, fingerprints, any aliases used, a list of offenses for which registration is required, court of conviction, name and location of facility in which incarcerated, place of employment, (a federal judge has struck down this portion of the law as of October 2012), addresses, phone numbers, next of kin, licenses/certifications, passport info, and any employment, attendance, or vocation with a post secondary educational institution.
Administrating Agency: Nebraska State Patrol is central repository of all registrations collected by registering agencies.
Timeframe for Registration: Sex Offenders are required to register with a state patrol office or corrections facility for initial registration. Complete any registrations and verifications with the sheriff’s office thereafter.
Applies to Out of State Offenders: Yes
Duration of Requirement: Sex offenders are required to be registered for 15 years, 25 years, or Life. All offenders will have to report to the sheriff’s office for the verification annually, biannually or quarterly.
Penalties for Non-Compliance: Any person required to register under the Sex Offender Registration Act who violates the Act is guilty of a Class IIIA felony. Any person required to register under the Sex Offender Registration Act who violates the Act and who has previously been convicted of a violation of the Act is guilty of a Class IIA felony and, upon conviction, shall be sentenced to a mandatory minimum term of at least one (1) year in prison unless the violation which caused the person to be placed on the registry was a misdemeanor, in which case the violation of  the Sex Offender Registration Act shall be a Class III felony.
Access to Information: All registered offenders are posted on our website
Confidentiality Provision: No
Number Registered: 5,418 as of 10/30/17
Percent Compliance: 94%
Internet Access:  https://sor.nebraska.gov/
Translate »