Megan’s Law for Rhode Island

updated 6/20/2016

Contact Person: Rhode Island State Police
Internet http://www.risp.state.ri.us/

Contact person for Rhode Island Sex Offender Registry Database Management:

  • Detective Kyle Shibley and Ms. Danielle Mahoney, (401) 444-1296, Email Risor@risp.gov
Offenders Required to Register: Any person who, either in Rhode Island or elsewhere, has been: convicted of a criminal offense against a victim who is a minor or a sexually violent offense; has been determined to be a sexually violent predator; has committed an aggravated offense; or is a recidivist, is required to register.
Information Collected: Name; identifying factors; anticipated future residence; and juvenile- and adult-offense history; and documentation of any treatment received for the mental abnormality or personality disorder of the person.
Administrating Agency: As of January 1, 2009, Rhode Island State Police has assumed responsibility of managing the Rhode Island sex offender registry database. Police Department in the state are responsible for all sex offender registrations, information collecting, compliance, etc.
Timeframe for Registration: Within 24 hours of entering state: 24 hours of change of address; within 24 hour of being released.
Applies to Out of State Offenders: Yes, if the crime for which convicted is a registerable offense in Rhode Island.
Duration of Requirements: An offender who is required to register must do so for 10 years following his or her date of release from incarceration, parole, supervised release, or probation. A sexually violent predator must register for his or her lifetime following the date of his release from prison, placement on parole, supervised release, or probation. An offender who has one or more prior convictions for the following offenses or who is convicted of an aggravated offense must register for his or her lifetime following the date of his release from confinement, placement on parole, supervised release, or probation: kidnapping or false imprisonment of a minor, if the victim of the offense is 16 or older but under 18; third-degree sexual assault; assault with the intent to commit first-degree sexual assault; first- or second-degree child molestation sexual assault; exploitation for commercial or immoral purposes; murder, if the offense was committed in the perpetration or attempted perpetration of kidnapping and if the victim of the kidnapping is under 18; first- or second-degree sexual assault; assault with the intent to commit sexual assault; murder committed in perpetration or attempted perpetration of rape, sexual assault, or child molestation; or any offense in another jurisdiction that is substantially the equivalent of any offense listed above or for which the offender is or would be required to register under federal law. A juvenile who is required to register and who is a sexually violent predator, who has one or more prior convictions for an offense requiring registration, or who has been convicted of an aggravated offense must register for 15 years following the date of release from confinement, placement in the community, or probation.
Verification of Address: Yes
Penalties for Non-Compliance: An offender who is required to register or verify his or her address and who knowingly fails to do so is guilty of a felony and upon conviction he or she will be imprisoned no more than 10 years, fined no more than $10,000, or both imprisoned and fined.  An offender who is required to register or verify his or her address and who knowingly fails to do so is in violation of the terms of his or her release, regardless of whether or not the term was a special condition of his or her release on probation, parole, home confinement, or other form of supervised release.
Access to Information: If risk of re-offense is high, law-enforcement agencies, organizations in the community including schools and religious and youth organizations, and the members of the public likely to encounter the registered offender are notified. If risk of re-offense is moderate, law-enforcement agencies and organizations in the community including schools and religious and youth organizations likely to encounter the registered offender are notified, provided the notice is given only to those schools or organizations that are actually in charge of or in control of women or children and that are likely to encounter the person registered. If risk of re-offense is low, law-enforcement agencies likely to encounter the registered offender are notified.
Confidentiality Provision: No
Number Registered:
  • Absconded 1
  • Active 1,694
  • Active – Out In Comm 2
  • Active Warrant 3
  • Active-Homeless 54
  • Awaiting Deportation 5
  • Change Of Adr-Out/St 1
  • Deceased 75
  • Deported 97
  • Employment Only 1
  • Exp-Reg Complete 2
  • Exp-Reg Not Req 2
  • Expired Registration 2
  • Homeless 3
  • In Compliance 1
  • In Custody 1
  • Inactive 312
  • Inactive – Deceased 2
  • Inactive – Expired 8
  • Inactive – Moved 15
  • Inactive – Other 3
  • Inactive By Court 3
  • Inactive Reg Expired 13
  • Inactive-Out Of Area 3
  • Incarcerated 169
  • Juv Offender 66
  • Juvenile – Active 7
  • Juvenile-Inactive 2
  • Mental Hlth Facility 9
  • Moved Out Of State 47
  • No Longer Req To Reg 2
  • Non-Compliant 17
  • Noncomp-Incarcerated 1
  • Noncomp-Local War 2
  • Not Req To Register 2
  • Out Of Compliance 1
  • Out Of State 214
  • Out Of State Prison 2
  • Out/St-Empl In State 4
  • Out/St-Incarcerated 6
  • Pending 1
  • Prison-Incarcerated 1
  • Registered 1
  • Warrant Issued 5
  • Whereabouts Unknown 3

As of 6/20/16

Percent Compliance: Not known
Internet Access: Rhode Island Sex Offender Registry
http://www.paroleboard.ri.gov/For Level II and Level III offenders www.paroleboard.ri.gov
Translate »