West Virginia

Megan’s Law for West Virginia

updated 11/8/2017

Contact Person: Terri Swecker, State Police (304) 746-2133.
Offenders Required to Register: Applies retroactive. Convicted of a qualifying offense or attempt to commit, or convicted under a similar provision in another state, federal or military jurisdiction, or those found not guilty by reason of mental illness, mental retardation or addiction of a qualifying offense are required to register. Also if convicted of an offense and the sentencing judge determines that the offense was sexually motivated must register.
Information Collected: Name, social security number, date of birth, height, weight, hair & eye color, current address, previous address, telephone number, vehicle information, employer information, offense convicted of, jurisdiction of conviction, date of conviction, date of release, fingerprints and photos, name and phone number of parole/probation officer.
Administrating Agency: State Police.
Timeframe for Registration:
  • 3 business days upon release;
  • 10 business days of moving into state,
  • 10 business days of changing address.
Applies to Out of State Offenders: Yes and those visiting for more that 15 continuous days.
Duration of Requirement: Life for anyone convicted of a sexual offense involving a minor (under the age of 18); 1 or more prior sexual convictions; judge determines there were multiple victims or multiple counts for a qualifying offense; any sexually violent offense, has been court determined to be a sexual violent predator: 10 years for any one time non-violent sexual offense involving an adult.
Verification of Address: Yes
Penalties for Non-Compliance: Misdemeanor – penalty, fined not less than two hundred fifty dollars nor more than ten thousand dollars, or imprisoned in the county jail not more than one year, or both fined and imprisoned. Felony if convicted of second or subsequent offense – penalty – 1-5 yrs. Felony if convicted of third or subsequent offense – penalty 5-25 years. If required to register for life it is a felony to fail to provide registration changes or fail to register. Penalty 1-5 yr. Felony for second or subsequent offense – penalty 10-25 years. Felony for any person required to register as a sexually violent predator who fails to register or provide registration changes – Penalty – 1st offense 2-10 yrs. Second or subsequent offense 15-35 yrs.
Access to Information: All lifetime registered sex offenders are available to the public on the Internet. A quarterly mailing is available upon request. Information on those registered for 10 years is not available to the public without a court order.
Confidentiality Provision: No
Number Registered: 5,826  as of 11/7/17
Percent Compliance: 99% – 21 active warrants
Internet Access: West Virginia Sex Offender Registry
Translate »